The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) , formerly known as Food Stamps is a federal program that helps you stretch your food budget and buy healthy food. The 3 things that determine your eligibility for nutrition assistance from the largest program in the domestic hunger safety net (SNAP) are your Gross Monthly Income, your Net Income and your Assets. There are also specific requirements your household is expected to meet in each category before you are declared eligible for SNAP to receive benefits:

Gross Monthly Income

The total amount of income you earn before any taxes or other expenses are taken out is called gross monthly income. To receive SNAP benefits, you must be at or below 130% of the poverty line. 

Net Income

The total amount of income you take home after paying taxes or other deductions is called net income and your net income is expected to be at or below the poverty line before SNAP benefits can be given to you. 


The total amount of assets one may have must fall below specified limits.  This limit is $2,250 or less for households without an elderly (60+ years of age) or disabled member and $3,500 for households with an elderly or disabled member.

Visit here for exact information and resource limits.

Apply for Help

You have to take the step of applying for help in the state you currently reside if you want to receive SNAP benefits. You can do so by contacting your state agency or by visiting your local SNAP office and visiting your State Agency’s website. You can also call your State’s toll-free SNAP information hotline. Utilize this pre-screening tool to check your eligibility for SNAP.

Additional Federal Food Ass
istance Programs

There are millions of children and adults who do not get their daily bread daily. These Top Federal Food Assistance Programs can help support their struggles with hunger. These programs may offer you and your family the support you’ve been searching for if you or someone needs access to food or other assistance.